Funky Four + One

Members Real Name
Keith Keith Keith Caeser
Sha Rock Sharon Green
KK Rockwell Kevin Smith
Rahiem Guy Williams
Lil' Rodney C Rodney Stone
Jazzy Jeff Jeffrey Myree

The Funky Four plus One are etched down in history as partaking hugely in the acclaimed form work of the early period of hiphop emergence. At a time when hip-hop's momentum had moved the emcee into the light and banded together evolving into groups. The Funky Four established themselves as a tight gender-mixed crew of emcees taking crowds enraptured at local Bronx block parties and later became the first group to perform on Saturday Night Live in 1981 opening for Blondie. This leap would reshape the world of music and pop culture indefinitely.

Originally called the Brothers Disco, the group consisted of performers who came together breaking away from other groups with the same intent. Members Keith 'Keith Keith' Caeser, Sharon 'Sha Rock' Green, Kevin 'KK Rockwell' Smith and Guy 'Rahiem' Williams. By 1978 the first notable female MC, Sha Rock left the group as did Rahiem who furthered his career in the Furious 4. Soon after leaving another local talented group called the Magnificent Seven, Rodney 'Lil Rodney C' Stone and Jeffrey 'Jazzy Jeff' Myree(Not of French Prince duo) took over their spot. It wasn't long before Sha Rock returned to the group to be the Plus One member. Their first recorded work was with DJs Breakout and Baron called 'Rappin' and Rockin' the House' in '79 through Enjoy Records before any members were older than 17. The track lasts over 15 minutes in duration and it still today's longest hiphop song. Utilising the break of Cheryl Lynn's 'Got To Be Real' with drums programmed by Pumpkin, an understated hero of hiphop production under an elongated rap commentary. The track was considered impressive by both peers and industry insiders and paved their way for a string of sub-par hits.

Later the established group were recognized by Sylvia Robinson's label Sugar Hill and promptly signed to release their quintessential song, 'That's The Joint' by 1981 along with 'Do You Want To Rock' and 'King Heroin', 'Square biz', 'Feel It' and 'Superstars' were later released. The group never worked out an entire album but these tracks laid down blueprints for upcoming stars of rap music and the expansive genre to follow.

To be featured on the Wild Style, the film depicting the unseen Bronx hip-hop scene, the Funky Four were in company of promoter Fab Five Freddy who associated with Deborah Harry, better known professionally as Blondie. When offered the chance to tour with her, Sugar Hill records would not let them. Their contract kept them away from the tour and this caused the disruption in the group and by May 9th, 1981 each member were in movements of splitting up. This was to be the beginning of Double Trouble signed under Blondie's label. However the group stuck together long enough for being filmed on Wild Style as themselves performing alongside their peers in the hip-hop culture of b-boys, DJs, aerosol artists and MCs.

By 1983 the group had completely disbanded with Lil Rodney C and KK Rockwell forming the duo Double Trouble. Jazzy Jeff continued his career solo recording with Jive Records. Sha Rock joined two female MCs in the group Us Girls.


  • Rappin Rockin The House
  • That's The Joint
  • Feel It (The Mexican)
  • Do You Want To Rock
  • Square Biz
  • Superstars
  • King Heroin - Jazzy Jeff