Ja Rule

Real Name: Jeffrey Atkins
D.O.B.: February 29, 1976 Queens, New York

Label(s): Universal, The Inc., Mpire
Ja Rule is a Queens, New York rapper and actor. He is signed to The Inc. and Universal Records, formerly of Def Jam Recordings. Best-known for hits such as "Put It On Me", "Between Me And You", "I'm Real" and "Wonderful", Ja Rule has released seven albums to date and sold over 20 million albums worldwide.

The Early Career

Atkins began his rap career in 1994 with the group Cash Money Click. He told Curtis Waller of MTV News that his stage name "Ja Rule" came from a friend of his who addressed him by that name; other friends called him "Ja".

Studio Albums

Venni Vetti Vecci (1999)
His debut album Venni Vetti Vecci was released in 1999. Singles included "Holla Holla" and "It's Murda" with Jay-Z and DMX. The final single was "Daddy's Little Baby", a duet with Ronald Isley. Venni Vetti Vicci was certified platinum by the RIAA on July 12, 1999.

Rule 3:36 (2000)
Ja Rule would return during the summer of 2000, with his new single "Between Me and You", which featured Def Soul act Christina Milian. The single was quickly followed by Ja's second effort, Rule 3:36, which was released on October 10, 2000. 3:36 also featured singles "Put It On Me," and "I Cry." The album featured guest appearances from Lil Mo, Vita, Christina Milian, label mates Jayo Felony, and Black Child. Rule 3:36 debuted at #1 on the Billboard Charts, eventually going 3x Platinum.

Pain Is Love (2001)
Soon after the release of Rule 3:36, Irv Gotti signed R&B singer Ashanti to the label, which led to Lil Mo ending her collaborations with the label. During the late summer of 2001, Ja Rule released "Livin' It Up", the lead single from his third studio album, Pain Is Love. The second single was the "I'm Real (remix)", and the third was "Always On Time", and the last was "Down Ass Bitch". Pain Is Love featured guest appearances from Case, The Murder Inc. Family, Missy Elliott, Jodie Mack, Tweet, Jennifer Lopez and a recording from the late Tupac Shakur. Along with its critical success it was also a commercial success, reaching 3x Platinum certification.

The Last Temptation (2002)
Ja Rule shaved his head during the promotion of his fourth studio album, The Last Temptation. His fourth album was released on November 19, 2002. The album was certified platinum.

Blood In My Eye (2003)
Blood In My Eye was his fifth album and the last released under the "Murder Inc." label, which would rename itself "The Inc." several days after the album release. It peaked at #6 on the Billboard 200 and #1 on the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart.[6] In October 2003, Ja Rule met with Minster Louis Farrakhan, who wanted to intervene and prevent escalating violence in the feud between 50 Cent and Ja Rule.

R.U.L.E. (2004)
Ja Rule's sixth studio album R.U.L.E. was released in November 2004. Its lead single was "Wonderful" featuring R. Kelly and Ashanti, followed by the street anthem "New York" featuring Fat Joe and Jadakiss and the love song "Caught Up" featuring Lloyd and Ashanti. In 2005, the RIAA certified R.U.L.E. and its single "Wonderful" gold. Critical reception of this album was poor, as with Blood in My Eye.

Departure From The Inc.

On December 6, 2005, The Inc. released Exodus, a greatest hits album. "Me" was the only new song in that album. Exodus was the last album on Ja Rule's contract with Def Jam. After the release of this compilation, Ja Rule took a hiatus from recording music.

In 2005, The Inc. Records would come under investigation because of the drug trades by Kenneth "Supreme" McGriff, who was associated with Irv Gotti. This would all lead to Def Jam Recordings refusing to renew The Inc.'s contract. From 2005 to 2006, Irv would search for other labels, until finally reaching a deal with Universal Records.

The Mirror (2007-present)
The first single of his eighth album The Mirror, "Uh-Ohhh!", featuring Lil Wayne, came out in August 2007. Following singles were "Body" featuring Ashley Joi and "Sunset" featuring The Game. All these singles failed in sales. Originally, The Mirror was to be released on September 12, 2007, then delayed to November 13. That release date was delayed and the JaRule.net website later listed a 2008 release time frame for The Mirror.

Criminal Charges

In 1999, he along with the rest of Murder Inc. were brought up on charges for assaulting 50 Cent, which led to a restraining order against them for 50. Also in 2003, he punched a man in Toronto for shouting at him in a crowd because of the 50 Cent feud. He would end up suing Ja Rule, but they settled out of court. In 2004, police investigated whether a feud involving The Inc. led to fatal shooting outside a nightclub party hosted by Ja Rule. In July 2007, Ja Rule was arrested for gun and drug possession charges along with Lil Wayne.


  • 1999 Venni Vetti Vecci
  • 2000 Rule 3:36
  • 2001 Pain Is Love
  • 2002 The Last Temptation
  • 2003 Blood in My Eye
  • 2004 R.U.L.E.
  • 2008 The Mirror


  • 2000 Da Hip Hop Witch
  • 2000 Turn it Up
  • 2001 Crime Partners 2000
  • 2001 The Fast and the Furious
  • 2002 Half Past Dead
  • 2003 Scary Movie 3
  • 2003 Pauly Shore Is Dead
  • 2004 The Cookout
  • 2004 Shall We Dance?
  • 2005 Back in the Day
  • 2005 Assault on Precinct 13

  • Awards and Nominations


    Year Award Category Song/Album
    • 2001
    Source Award "Single of the Year" "Put It on Me"
    • 2002
    MTV Video Music Award Best Hip-Hop Video "I'm Real (Murder Remix)"
    • 2002
    World Music Award World's Best-Selling Rap Artist
    • 2002
    World Music Award World's Best-Selling Rap Artist
    • 2002
    World Music Award World's Best-Selling Rap Artist
    • 2002
    BET Award Best Male Hip-Hop Artist Artist
    • 2002
    BET Award Best Male Hip-Hop Artist Artist
    • 2002
    GQ Men of the Year Musician of the Year
    • 2002
    Teen Choice Award Male Artist of the Year
    • 2002
    NAACP Image Award Best Rap/Hip-Hop Artist
    • 2003
    Source Award R&B/Rap Collboration of the Year "Thug Lovin'"


    Year Award Category Song/Album
    • 2001
    MTV Video Music Award Best Hip-Hop Video "Put It On Me"
    • 2002
    MTV Video Music Award Best Hip-Hop Video "Always on Time"
    • 2002
    American Music Award Favorite Rap/Hip-Hop Artist
    • 2002
    Grammy Award Best Rap by Duo/Group "Put It on Me"
    • 2002
    Grammy Award Best Rap Album Pain Is Love
    • 2002
    Grammy Award Best Rap/Sung Collaboration "Livin' It Up"
    • 2002
    World Music Award World's Best-Selling Rap Artist
    • 2002
    Soul Train Music Award Best Rap/Soul or Rap Album Pain Is Love
    • 2002
    American Music Award Favorite Hip-Hop/R&B Male Artist
    • 2002
    Grammy Award Best Rap/Sung Collaboration "Always on Time"
    • 2004
    Source Award Fat Tape Song of the Year "Clap Back"