Snoop Dogg - Ego Trippin'

Label: Doggystyle/Geffen/Interscope Records
Release Date: March 11th, 2008
Producers: Snoop Dogg (exec.), DJ Quik, Neptunes, Niggaracci, Teddy Riley (+ more)


  1. A Word Witchya! (Intro)
  2. Press Play
  3. SD Is Out
  4. Gangsta Like Me
  5. Neva Have 2 Worry (w. Uncle Chuuc)
  6. Sexual Eruption
  7. Life of da Party (w. Scoop DeVille & Too $hort)
  8. Waste of Time (w. Raphael Saadiq)
  9. Cool
  10. Sets Up (w. Pharrell)
  11. Deez Hollywood Nights
  12. Whateva U Do
  13. Staxxx in My Jeans
  14. Been Around tha World
  15. Let it Out
  16. My Medicine
  17. Ridin' in My Chevy
  18. Those Gurlz
  19. One Chance (Make it Good)
  20. Why Did You Leave Me
  21. Can't Say Goodbye (w. Charlie Wilson)

To purchase this album click here: Ego Trippin'

Superstar entertainer and hip hop icon Snoop Dogg readies for his highly anticipated album Ego Trippin’ releasing on March 11th through Doggystyle/Geffen. Early buzz from industry insiders hint at a new sound that only an artist like Snoop could pull off - including collaborations with legendary producer Teddy Riley and artist Whitey Ford who bring out different sides of the veteran rapper. These unexpected pairings sparked creativity and magic in the studio which translated into an amazingly diverse and innovative album.

Tha Boss Dogg titled the album Ego Trippin’ because this time around, he is doing just that. After 16 years in the game, Snoop consistently proves himself as not only an entertainer, but a pioneer in hip hop. On Snoop’s ninth studio offering, the West Coast rapper is taking chances no other rap artist could pull off, and showing fans a new side we have never seen before. Ego Trippin’ showcases groundbreaking material and if the first single is any indication - fans will embrace the new sounds. Snoop says, "I named the album Ego Trippin’ because after staying relevant for 16 years, I can afford to take chances and have some fun. I always made music to win in my neighborhood but after all these years I needed to do something bigger - I had to get out of my usual gangster zone without losing who I am, this time around I am going to win worldwide."

Following the smash first single, "Sensual Seduction," produced by Shawty Redd and featuring Snoop crooning the lyrics, comes the highly anticipated second single, "Life of Da Party," produced by Scoop DeVille and featuring another West Coast champ Too $hort.

Throughout the album, Snoop takes listeners on a musical journey - from funk to eighties vibes to even country music. Forever a fan of Teddy Riley, Snoop was excited to be able to collaborate with the musical genius on this album. Throughout the recording process, they had such great chemistry in the studio that QDT Muzic was birthed - an entity comprised of DJ Quik, Snoop and Teddy that is responsible for overseeing the entire album. Snoop came up with the song concepts, Teddy added his touches to the production and Quik mastered the album. Ego Trippin’ marks the first time since "Doggystyle," Snoop’s first album, that one individual mastered the entire package - adding a continuity to the sounds that play more like a movie instead of a music recording.

Thematically on Ego Trippin’, Snoop is paying tribute to those who inspired him over the years. The musically rich song "Cool" is an interpolation of the classic song originally recorded by The Time. On it, Snoop sings more than raps and the results are phenomenal. It is a song made to dance to and will transport listeners to the eighties with one listen. Another surprise song is entitled "Johnny Cash" and was written and produced by Whitey Ford. The song is a country love ballad and is unlike anything anyone has ever heard from a hip hop superstar. One of Snoop’s album favorites is "Say Goodbye," featuring R&B great Charlie Wilson of The Gap Band. Snoop says, "This song makes me want to cry every time I hear it. It is a reflection of my life and how I have grown as not only an artist but also a man - it is about me staying true to where I came from while having to accept where I am in my life today, it’s deep."

Review by anonymous for
(This is the opinion of the author and is no way endorsed or influenced by any outside source.)

To purchase this album click here: Ego Trippin'

Your Ad Here