Real Name: Michelle Toussaint
D.O.B.: 1970 (unknown by author)

Michel’le is an R&B vocalist and higher-voiced member of the World Class Wreckin’ Cru. Known for her squeaky, adolescent sounding voice which when compared to her strong vocals is quite in contrast. As a member of World Class she first appeared with Alonzo William’s Kru-Cut Records, but her first official signing to a label was in 1989 with Ruthless Records headed by Eric ‘Eazy-E’ Wright of the NWA group.

She released her debut self-titled album which was entirely produced by her boyfriend Dr. Dre. This created three high-selling singles ‘No More Lies’, ‘Nicety’ and ‘Something in my Heart’. The album went gold selling over one million copies. After a highly-disputed break-up NWA members Ice Cube and Dr. Dre separated from Ruthless Records leaving Michel’le stranded with Eazy. With the hardlined approach from new business partner Suge Knight, Dre went about forcing the release of Michel’le along with other artists tied down to Ruthless to promptly sign with Dre’s new venture Death Row Records. Under this banner she released her moderate selling follow-up album ‘Hung Jury’ years after the break from Ruthless in 1998. In between this she appeared on various Death Row recording artists’ albums notably on Tha Dogg Pound’s ‘Let’s Play House’ single.

Following Dre’s departure from Death Row in ’96 to head up his own company, Michel’le broke up with him only to turn her affections towards Suge Knight who was currently married and leading a very adulterous lifestyle. Dre and Michel’le share a young child, Marcel and has at least three with Suge Knight. He and Michel’le are currently married. Michel’le is still listed on the Death Row roster despite the controversy and downfall of the once national-powerhouse record label. Her most recent contribution to the west coast rap genre is on the Dysfunktional Family soundtrack in 2003.

    * 1989 Michel’le
    * 1998 Hung Jury

    * 1990 No More Lies
    * 1990 Nicety
    * 1990 Keep Watchin'
    * 1991 Something In My Heart
    * 1991 If?
    * 1998 Hang Tyme         
    * 1998 Can I Get a Witness?