Complete Members & Affiliates
  • Kuma
  • Grand Verbalizer Funkin' Lesson Brother J
  • ACL
  • "Ultraman" Ra Hanna
  • YZ
  • Queen Mother Rage
  • DJ Fat Jack
  • Paradise the Architect
  • Master China
  • Professor X the Overseer (Deceased)
  • Lord Cza
  • Sugar Shaft the Rhythm Provider (Deceased)
  • Isis

X-Clan was originally a four-piece crew made up of Brother J, Professor X, Paradise the Architect and Sugar Shaft based out of Brooklyn, New York. The current roster is an incarnation of the original crew features same leader, Brother J with Master China, Kumu, "Ultraman" Ra Hanna, ACL, Lord Cza and DJ Fat Jack. They are known for their brand of ultra-heavy militant activism and lyrical afrocentrism. The original crew were members of Blackwatch.

X-Clan gained wide fame for their controversial lyrics, thus limiting their commercial appeal. Their début was To the East, Blackwards, followed by Xodus before the band had a long hiatus, or break up. Both albums peaked just outside the top ten on Billboard's Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart. X-Clan and Blackwatch affiliates included Isis (A.K.A. Linque Ayoung), Queen Mother Rage, and YZ. They themselves hosted a string of releases through the early 1990s. Professor X also dropped a solo album titled: Years of the 9, on the Blackhand Side in 1991 and two years later his sophomore, Puss N' Boots: The Struggle Continues. YZ released his début, Sons of The Father in 1989 followed by The Ghetto's Been Good To Me in 1993. After his first album dropped, YZ became an official member of X-Clan. Isis released Rebel Soul in 1990. Queen Mother Rage released Vanglorious Law in 1991. Isis at one point, was a member of the Wu-Tang Clan-affiliated group Deadly Venoms.

Dark Sun Riders was a 1994 group started by Brother J who soon after in '96 released their début album, Seeds of Evolution. In 1995, original member, Sugar Shaft died from complications related to AIDS. X-Clan regrouped toward the end of the 1990s but did not manage to release another group album. Brother J assembled a new team he called, X-Clan Millennium Cipher for the release of a vinyl single, "The One/Blackwards Row" in 2004.

On March 17th, 2006 Professor X died of complications from spinal meningitis.

As of 2007, the X-Clan have released a new album entitled, Return from Mecca featuring former Jurassic 5 member, Chali 2na, RBX and fellow afrocentric emcee, KRS One along with Tech N9ne found on a hidden track, "All I Want is Respect." Also lead vocalist for rock band Papa Roach, Jacoby Shaddix is featured on the album.

Professor X the Overseer (R.I.P.)
Sugar Shaft the Rhythm Provider (R.I.P.)


  • 1990 To the East, Blackwards (Chart position: #11)
  • 1992 Xodus (Chart position: #11)
  • 2007 Return from Mecca